I made a lager

While out of the house for 8 weeks, we wanted to use our fridge to lager a beer. Lagers have to be held between 32 and 50 for about 6 weeks, which is pretty hard to do unless you have the right kind of garage, or a dedicated lager fridge.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
So I made a batch (all by myself!!) and put it in the fridge in mid-May.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
DSC_0519
It bubbled over the airlock many times, and I had to problem solve that a bit.  I went with a foil cap for a couple weeks until the pressure died down, then put the regular airlock back on and hoped for the best while we were gone!

DSC_0520

 

One thought on “I made a lager

  1. Pingback: Playing catch-up: Summer and Fall | the other mitten

Leave a Reply

