Paleo vegan gluten-free chocolate pudding!

Warning: this post will probably offend you.

We’re 11 days into our month of no sugar, and several days ago I found myself wanting chocolate.  Not a Hershey’s bar, not even sweet chocolate.  I wanted dark, smoky, grainy, CHOCOLATE.

I do not have a gluten sensitivity, I do not have a child with a nut allergy, and I happen to think that we can digest meat and dairy just fine.  Also I am not a dietician or any kind of medical professional.  So I am obviously in a position to judge others’ eating habits.

Let me clarify — If I am an adherent to any diet, it is the Pollen – Bittman school of thought, which says that whatever you eat, make it real food, and appreciate it for what it is.  None of this crap:

did cavemen have stand mixers?

did cavemen have stand mixers?

A friend is doing this diet and I went to the website and read the rules.  This one was great:

No Paleo-ifying baked goods, desserts, or junk foods. Trying to shove your old, unhealthy diet into a shiny new Whole30 mold will ruin your program faster than you can say “Paleo Pop-Tarts.” This means no desserts or junk food made with “approved” ingredients—no banana-egg pancakes, almond-flour muffins, flourless brownies, or coconut milk ice cream. Don’t try to replicate junk food during your 30 days! That misses the point of the Whole30 entirely.

THANK YOU!

But back to my problems.

I really wanted chocolate.  I considered having some baking chocolate, but after eating some of a Lindt 99% bar one time, I knew this was a bad idea.  And yes, I could have just listened to my own advice and just sought out something else appropriate that would have filled that chocolate-shaped hole in my tummy.  But we brought one appliance to our summer apartment in Knoxville, our mini cuisinart, and it was calling my name.

IMG_20140609_173929Inspired by the banana “ice cream” recipe out there (which I’ve made and I recommend — you just put frozen bananas in your food processor), I somehow thought I could make chocolate pudding with bananas.  First I tried a ratio of 1/2 oz : 2 bananas.  The result, despite the color, tasted like a big bowl of bananas, such as you might have eaten when you were 4.

IMG_20140609_175531So I waited a couple days for my other bananas to ripen, and tried again, this time with 1 oz : 3 bananas.  It made a pretty good chocolate-banana pudding!

Say hi to Bucky, our betta fish

Say hi to Bucky, our betta fish

This whole sugar thing is certainly changing the way I taste food.  I could never do it for the rest of my life, but I hope that it will make me more vigilant about knowing what I eat.

One thought on “Paleo vegan gluten-free chocolate pudding!

Leave a Reply

