The Kringle that Ate Lansing

Thanks to my Racine, WI heritage, I’ve been enjoying kringle my whole life, usually on holidays, and more often if I was lucky.  We’d get one on Christmas Eve and have to restrain ourselves because it was not to be eaten until the next day.  Perhaps this is where my love of pastry comes from; cake’s OK and all, but give me a pie any day, or better yet, a cream cheese danish.  You can imagine, then, that I was in hog heaven when I did a semester abroad in Vienna.  Mmmmmm……

Since I’m crazy enough to own a copy of The Pie and Pastry Bible, I thought I should learn how to make kringle.  Strudel, puff pastry, croissants, and danish pastry are all very similar.  While I wouldn’t say they are hard to make, it does require a large chunk of time to make your own pastry (roll 3 mins, refrigerate 30 mins, repeat six times).  The book also has a recipe for remonce, which is the almond creme you find in so many pastries.  Yum!

I did a little quick research, and I learned a bit about kringle and Racine kringle.  It is indeed from Denmark, but the dough was brought there by Viennese bakers.  (Ah ha!  It’s all adding up….)  The traditional shape in Europe is actually a pretzel, not the loop, which is how bakers in Racine make this pastry.  I stuck with the loop, because I was worried whether I’d even be able to pull that off.  A traditional filling for danishes of all shapes is apricot, which makes so much more sense to me now; Austrians love their apricots.  (Sorry folks, cherry pie filling is not authentic.)  I went with plain, however, because I really love almond anyway.  I’ll branch out next time.

My surprise came when rising and baking my kringle.  This thing got HUGE!

Note to self: Recipe makes 2 kringles

Note to self: Recipe makes 2 kringles

P1100481

I’m going to have to eat a lot of this thing to even get it in one of my tupperwares.  Woe, woe is me.

Demel, I await your call.

Demel, I await your call.

To do:

  • Fruit kringle.
  • Also putting this yummy remonce in other things (I’m seeing some almond croissants in my future).
4 thoughts on “The Kringle that Ate Lansing

  1. You are a mad baker! The closest I’ve gotten to making this type of pastry is watching the Julia Child episode where she made croissants. 😉 Looks fantastic. 🙂 PS I’m adding you to my blog roll.

  2. I have the Bread Bible and have similar feelings about all of those recipes. They are delicious but take a LONG time. I made cinnamon rolls once that I started on a Friday night, needed to set an alarm to perform another step at some point on Saturday night, and then finally baked and ate them on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

